Menstrual Cups TMI!!!

 

This post is about bodily functions, menstruation, vagina and whatnot. So if you get uncomfortable towards topics like this, you may stop reading now. You’ve been warned!

Oh so, you’re still reading. Okay. Then let’s move forward!

What is a menstrual cup?

  • A menstrual cup is basically a silicone thingy shaped as a funnel (at least from my perspective lol). It’s made from of course, medical grade and heavy duty silicone.
  • There are varieties of menstrual cups: Sinaya Cups, Luna Cups, Moon Cups, Diva Cups. I don’t know if it can be bought at a physical store but from what I have read, people order it online.

Ever since I’ve read about it, I was tempted to get one for myself. I’ve been stalling, I know. I’ve read Saab talk about it from like months ago and since then, I keep reading blogs about it. Apparently, everyone thinking about the switch are scared of basically the same stuff like:

  • Not being able to put it inside properly.
  • The mortifying thought of it getting stuck inside your vag.
  • Having to deal with unnecessary leaks!
  • The terror of taking it off and spilling everything all over yourself and the bathroom.
  • The crazy thought of putting a silicone thing inside you!

Okay so here’s why I am actually leaning towards getting a menstrual cup.

  • I always want to help Mother Nature the best I can so getting a menstrual cup is more eco-friendly than using pads and tampons.
  • Aside from that, it’s also cost effective. Menstrual cups can be used for about 5 years (I think) and imagine not buying pads or tampons for 5 years?! How much money would you be saving right?
  • According to the articles I’ve read, it’s easier to do stuff when you use menstrual cups. Like you’d feel ‘normal’, you can swim, surf and all that even if you have your period!

So what are your thoughts on this? I’m actually like 80% leaning towards getting it.

Published by

Thea

Thea, 26, INFJ (Turbulent) Always interested in other people's opinion on matters, ideas and random thoughts. I mostly keep to myself but I found that writing in this blog is easier than bottling my feelings up. Reading, writing, tea, coffee and wine are my favorite things. You can catch me mostly on twitter and instagram: @xoxthea make sure to say hello! :")

9 thoughts on “Menstrual Cups TMI!!!”

  1. Omg I’ve had this discussion with friends soooo many times. I’m like 70% in favor of getting a cup, I think? I just can’t get the horror stories out of my mind! Dealing with periods is already messy enough, it’s scary to think of all the hassle na madadagdagan 😭

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m scared about the whole thing!!! Like how do I insert it, how do I take it out! Where do I keep it, does the Sinaya cup comes with like a sterilized compact thing for storage hahaha nasestress ako!!! HAHAH pero I want talaga sana ahhahahaha pero HAHAHAH

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It took me *forever* tot try out tampons tbh, what more a menstrual cup? Huhuhu. PERO I WANT TO TALAGA HAHA KALOKAAAA 😂 I don’t know anyone personally who uses it din so parang nakakatakot talaga

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Baka bumili ako sa September (sorry na, nagbudget ako ganyan tapos feel ko sa September pa ako may pera for it hahaha) so by then, pag nauna ako, balitaan kita! HAHAAH ANG SCARY KASI TANGINAAA AHAHAHHAHAHA I’m scared that if I pull it out sasabog yung blood HAHAHA tmi talaga sobrang sorry ahahha

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Dami pa horror stories about putting it in like there was this one girl who said the ring she was wearing fell inside the cup ughhhhh 😩😖 I want to be eco friendly but my fears are stopping me talagaaaa

        Like

  2. I’ve been using one for the last 3 years & I think it’s one of the best inventions ever. ❤ First two months sobrang hassle, di ko makuha yung technique kung pano iinsert properly. Pero I got the hang of it naman. I tried convincing my friends to switch to menstrual cup pero natatakot sila. I'm from Leyte btw and hindi uso dito sa province kahit tampons ugh

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

