Thoughts About: On The Job (Indie Filipino Film)

Kyx has been bugging me to get on with watching On The Job; an indie Filipino film by Erik Matti. Kyx nd I have been watching thriller, crime, mystery films, mostly twist-y films I would say and he wanted to check if On The Job makes the cut in our taste. On The Job is a movie about 2 narrative. 1 about 2 gunmen who are already inmates/prisoners only to be allowed to go out in the open when a powerful politician/military person wants someone killed. Another narrative is about 2 policemen trying to solve a crime only to find out that the people responsible for a crime is right under their noses.

I don’t want to give away more spoilers but this film is definitely one of the movies you need to see before you die. The terrifying and eerie feeling of knowing that it is based on true events is enough to make you go crazy.

I guess I would rate it around 4.5 over 5 stars.

I am not a film major but I took up film class as a major subject back in college when I was still acquiring my bachelor’s degree for Communication Art so my standards on films can be pretty decent. I just have one major thing which is why I didn’t give it a perfect 5.

I feel like it aimed to have your mind blown but it didn’t. I mean it did on certain parts but from boiling down to a single plot, it’s pretty obvious. Okay, I don’t really know the objective or the goal of having 2 narratives. I feel like it gives you the clue that it will all be tangled down in the end but you know it is tangled up to begin with? Argh. I can’t explain! Lol.

It’s hard not to give spoilers on this but I don’t want to give anything else away but I guess I would eventually do it, grrr.

I feel like they wanted us to not know that the stories are weaved together or maybe I’m wrong? But that’s what I feel. They wanted to have this mind-fuck feel to it but it failed ? or is it just me thinking that?

Overall, it is one of the greatest films in the Filipino Film Industry and that makes me very proud.

Published by

Thea

Thea, 26, INFJ (Turbulent) Always interested in other people's opinion on matters, ideas and random thoughts. I mostly keep to myself but I found that writing in this blog is easier than bottling my feelings up. Reading, writing, tea, coffee and wine are my favorite things. You can catch me mostly on twitter and instagram: @xoxthea make sure to say hello! :")

Leave a Reply

