Art Fair Philippines 2017

The Art Fair Philippines 2017 is an annual art fair event. It was held in The Link Parking, Makati City. Being an artist of a boyfriend, Kyx’s friends are artist themselves (of course) and some really pursued traditional painting (unlike Kyx who was more on the digital side).

(Here are some pieces and I’ll get to adding some more)

Ticket prices are 250.00 per head (about 2-3 US Dollars) not really expensive and I must say quite a bargain already. For students, they’d only pay 50 pesos (a dollar) and for the students of Makati City they would be free of charge as long as they have an ID.

I think it was a 3 day fair (Sorry I’m always not sure lol) we went on the 2nd day, Saturday February 18, 2017. There was a long line to get to the event. I think we waited for a good 30 minutes before we were allowed to pay for our tickets. After getting our tickets, we went straight to the 6th floor where Art Underground is (that’s Marc’s art representative; sorry to be politically incorrect cause in all honesty, I don’t know what it’s called but it’s just Marc’s management I believe) so we roamed around first and checked out the art pieces we can see. There were lots and lots and lots of art pieces that we were not able to see because basically the whole 6th to 11th floor have art pieces in them. Kyx and I were able to check out the art pieces on the 6th floor, which I will show you.. I wasn’t able to take a photo on all the art pieces cause either I am awkward or there are lots of other people taking photos.

The only driving force why Kyx and I went to the art fair was that our friend Marc Aran Reyes is showcasing his 3 huge pieces called “The Oneiric Time Piece”. Though we really loved the other art pieces, we went there mainly to support our friend.

I am keeping myself off from writing more about Marc but I can’t help it! Marc is such a wonderful person and an amazing artist. He’s always very humble and down to earth despite the fact that he is starting to rise in the art scene. Famous people and celebrities are lining up for his art work and his art are always sold out! Ahhhh I can’t be any prouder and happier for Marc. He deserves it!

He is so passionate and we can’t help but be really proud of him and his success.

Okay, enough of y fan-girling for my friend.

The only other thing that I didn’t like was a lot of people went there not because they’re enthusiasts but because they want to join the bandwagon. Not big of a problem in there but basic art manners are not even observed! A lot of other people are TOUCHING the art pieces my oh my. It’s horrific. Please people, do not touch the art works unless it is to be touched. It’s okay to take photos of it but make sure to be very careful. Also, make sure you don’t take photos with flash if advised.

Over all, the art fair was a great experience. I love every painting I saw and I got more and more inspired to do well in my watercolour paintings lol. I know I won’t be as big as Marc but whatev.

Here’s a group photo that our friend Kaye took. 

Leave a Reply

