Watercolor Chronicles S02E03

Today, the Winsor and Newton Cotman Set of 45 half pans have arrived!!! Finally, I have a decent paint (not that Prang isn’t decent but you know what I mean right?)

I am considering this the season 2 of my watercolour chronicles. After learning the basics (the hard way of course) I think I can consider myself on the second level of the journey already. Not that I’m good enough already but at least I can produce decent ones after failing miserable and wasting so much paint and paper before. Lol.

In season 2, here’s what I recently acquired:

  • A bigger watercolour paper. Same brand (that I have yet to compare with other brands but for now I’m good)
  • I have added a few good brushes aside from my one and only trusted medium water brush I have acquired when I first started painting in watercolour. I have 2 sets of sable brushes, the cheaper one I bought from National Bookstore and the more student grade one (meaning legit one) are from Deovir Art supplies store. I am loving the latter even more so than I expected! I found it rather small for my taste at first but I figured it works well for me cause I have a small hand and it makes it easier to control the strokes. Though expensive for a student (or is it cheap for artist idk but it’s pretty expensive for me on a reasonable side though) I find it very very good. It has a nice quality for the price only for 518 pesos I think it’s about $10 (US Dollars). Okay so at first I was thinking it is expensive but now, I feel like it’s way cheaper because of how good the quality it has! I love it!
  • Of course, I got a new set of paints! After having Prang watercolour for I think about 5 months, I decided to get tube paints so I could try em out too. I decided to get the 12 tube set of Pebeo’s Gouache paints (which works well for me) though I do not paint entirely with it, I mean I use several colors in several parts only when I need it because Prang is a bit too weak for my taste when it comes to saturation and vibrancy. So the Gouache paints really lifted a lot of my artworks and I loved it (though it takes some getting used to. I figured it behaved well differently than Prang but whatevs) so now that I’m on season 2, I have the W&N 45 half pan Cotman!!! I am soooo excited to try it out. I have read a lot of reviews, watched tutorials and reviews as well on YouTube and I am just really freaking out cause I want to learn more of it.
  • Lastly and most importantly, I have acquired a new set of confidence and creativity. I have not thought about myself that I’ll be a good artist cause I just really am an enthusiast and more contented to have an artist of a boyfriend. I find joy in just watching him create his own artworks and I couldn’t be any more happier until I felt that I can create my own set of artworks too!

I will try to refrain from saying that I still have a lot to learn (but seriously, I have to learn a lot more!) and just enjoy practicing. I hope to be more creative and give birth to new concept and ideas without having to look for inspiration on other artworks, I want to be able to create my own original piece and maybe that’s not gonna happen anytime soon but I really do hope!

So stoked to use the W&N tonight!!! Are you excited for me too? LOL.

Happy Painting!

(again, if you have any suggestions, tips, tricks or a blog you want me to read, please do let me know!)

Published by

Thea

Thea, 26, INFJ (Turbulent) Always interested in other people's opinion on matters, ideas and random thoughts. I mostly keep to myself but I found that writing in this blog is easier than bottling my feelings up. Reading, writing, tea, coffee and wine are my favorite things. You can catch me mostly on twitter and instagram: @xoxthea make sure to say hello! :")

2 thoughts on “Watercolor Chronicles S02E03”

Leave a Reply

