Hi! After all your words of encouragement and appreciation, I finally decided that I will upgrade my paint from Prang to Cotman!

I ordered a 45 half pan Winsor and Newton Cotman set and I can’t wait to finally be able to use it! I think it’ll arrive tomorrow or Friday *squealing in excitement*

I got suggestions about getting an artist paint already or something better than the Cotman set. Though I really appreciate your suggestions (many thanks again, I swear I love you guys for that!) I can’t go back now because 1. I ordered the W&N set already and 2. You might think I am really good (do you, or not? Lol) but I am actually not good at it just yet. I have a lot to learn! My paintings are like baby quality compared to some of the beginners. My paintings may look nice but it’s just really blah most of the time.

As I keep saying, I have not made something out of pure emotions cause I have to look for inspiration among other artists which makes me feel like a noob lol. Also, I have to ask Kyx for help if I feel like I am not doing something right so he still needs to guide me. So I guess the Cotman might be a good one for practicing (though I still feel so unworthy of it as of the moment)

It’s not that I am putting myself so down and low and that I don’t believe in myself but seriously you guys, I have artist friends and some of you here are talented enough that can really whip out a good painting and I sit here, trying my best and failing hahaha. Although as I also keep saying, I am quite happy about it I just really need to practice more and more everyday!

So for watercolour artists or enthusiasts, I have a question.

I am using a 200gsm cold pressed Canson watercolour paper. The style I use on painting is “wash” so most of the paintings I do are wet on wet. My paper gets wrinkled (though it doesn’t tear) I have a hard time mixing cause the colors spread out on the wrinkled part instead of the whole paper. Is it the paper I need to change or do I really use a lot of water? (I put water a lot but not so much to make my paper have a meltdown, I hope you know what I mean) So really, please HELP me!

And also, any tips on watercolour you know? A blog or you as a person? Please do help me. I will appreciate it so much!

Xox,T.

Published by

Thea

Thea, 26, INFJ (Turbulent) Always interested in other people's opinion on matters, ideas and random thoughts. I mostly keep to myself but I found that writing in this blog is easier than bottling my feelings up. Reading, writing, tea, coffee and wine are my favorite things. You can catch me mostly on twitter and instagram: @xoxthea make sure to say hello! :")

Leave a Reply

