“You Should Put More Lipstick”

How was your 2017 going so far? I want to write a chronological post from my pre-holidays to holidays to post-holidays but I guess I shall let my OCD pass for a wee bit cause I want to write about this so bad.

This for me, is a very personal blog entry that I shouldn’t even have written anything about it cause I’m afraid people might think of it as unethical but then I realized that I can write anything I want (in my blog) as long as it is based on my own pride and principles given that I don’t trample on anyone. So let’s begin!

The first working day of 2017 meant my “year-end” evaluation + 1st work year evaluation. It went really nice and I saw my evaluation as a great opportunity for learning and growth! However there was this one comment, something I was asked to do that I didn’t really understand (and I don’t stand by this idea either) but I had to follow and deal with. I was asked to wear more lipstick everyday at work. This could mean a lot of different things for some of you but since I know my superior better than anyone of you guys, I chose to not find it offensive. I just felt it was a little off. (though I shall try to not be carried away)

Let’s go through as to why I don’t wear a lot of make-up (or nothing at all) everyday.

  1. I have allergies on a lot of different cosmetic products and I can’t afford to keep doing a “trial and error” if a product fits me or not. So I just choose to wear it occasionally or “inconsistently” as what I was told or nothing at all. LOL.
  2. My boyfriend is not a fan of make-up AT ALL. I mean he lets me wear make-up if I want to or if it fits the situation but he worries that I would get sick again (as I said, I get BAD allergies. Seriously guys. BAD ones)
  3. I am not comfortable with it. Because sometimes I commute going to work and I perspire a lot (I think due to my thyroid problem ? ) so I would basically look uglier with make-up drenched by sweat than nothing at all on my face.
  4. I am not lazy and I don’t hate make-up, perhaps I love lipstick more than anything else but this is why I chose a job that does not require talking and presenting and welcoming guests because I am not fit to do any of that (looking) physically and emotionally. LOL.
  5. I believe that anyone can wear make-up as they please and anyone can opt to not wear make-up at all when they want to simply because that’s our right and we shall not be forced to do something we don’t believe in.

So now, I wear lipstick everyday. I don’t feel any less confident about myself or even more confident than I originally am. Because basically, my lipstick and any other cosmetic product do not equate to how I work and my capabilities. Also, have I not been compensating on making sure my hair looks nice and my clothes appropriate for my work environment? Oh well. I still feel kind of put off cause why does everything need to be “physical” these days? I make sure naman that I don’t look like I went straight to the office from my bed diba. I mean I know we should all look presentable and I make it a point I look the part (presentable lol) but. Gahhhh this is getting out of hand and a little while ago I was feeling sort of normal, now I feel like I wanna get mad because WHY SHOULD I EVEN PUT MAKE-UP IF I DON’T WANT TO??? Okay. Let me simmer down. Ha ha ha!

Published by

Thea

Thea, 26, INFJ (Turbulent) Always interested in other people's opinion on matters, ideas and random thoughts. I mostly keep to myself but I found that writing in this blog is easier than bottling my feelings up. Reading, writing, tea, coffee and wine are my favorite things. You can catch me mostly on twitter and instagram: @xoxthea make sure to say hello! :")

4 thoughts on ““You Should Put More Lipstick””

  1. Wow, that request for you to wear makeup was a little shocking for me, too! I don’t know what your job is, so I don’t know how important your appearance is to doing a good job… but it sounds like you’re doing the best you can without putting your health at risk. (And you being healthy is the most important thing!) I hope your supervisor understands your reasons for not wearing much makeup–your reasons are valid!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! My job is a writer, I mostly write articles about the companies products and have them publish on the newspaper, magazine and digital media. So I don’t really get it why I need to wear makeup HAHAAH 🙂

      Like

  2. The worst piece of advice I took account of and applied in my life: Don’t care about what others tell you. Always be yourself no matter what. You see, it’s exactly the opposite of what’s to be done in this material world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

