Love Story, 7 years in the Making

I have told this story a couple of times already and only now that I realized how big of a deal this is to my life. This is one lengthy post so get ready hehehe.

June 2007, the first time I am not excited for the first day of classes mainly because I was an incoming senior and that means it is the last year I would be enjoying my high school life before heading to what seems like a brutal school world called college. (backstory, I love my high school life so much, everything seems so easy and things fall into place just the way I want it to be so I got so attached to my high school days which is why I was terrified beyond belief with the thought of “college”) I was determined to make the most out of everything. I have lined up my goals and plans. I was just not up for first day, I guess. A little speck of joy dawned on me when I found out that I was going to be with my 2 best friends for the school year! The last time the 3 of us were together in the same class was 3 years ago so I was stoked to be with them.

I was so happy to see familiar faces again, so glad to be with the people I have been all throughout high school and just by seeing their faces filled my heart so much (I don’t know why but that’s how much I love my friends and classmates lol) Then I saw this quiet dude. He looks shy but sure of himself. He didn’t look lost but he is definitely out of place. Mysterious people get my attention very quickly hence my observation to this young lad. He looks simple but there’s more to him, I’m betting he’s a musician or an artist. There’s just this flare in him that speak volumes despite his silence. I didn’t care a lot about him because I was taken back to reality when the school bell rang, signalling the flag ceremony while all the other kids are talking nonstop, updating each other’s lives about how their summer went, I was standing with 2 of my best friends, both of them half squealing happily and rolling their eyes for annoying class separations and all. I was a bit silent for a while until one of them said something funny about a teacher’s hair which made me giggle.

June rolled on. I was on top of the world, pushing everything over the edge, my leader-leader instinct took over me and I am glad to be in charge of a lot of things no matter how tiring it could get. We were also busy because of the NCAE which everyone basically dreaded. It’s a career exam which until now, I am not sure why we went through a lot of review. By the 2nd week of June, everyone in the senior class is crammed into one room for a review. I think it lasted for hours! It was fun and no one seemed to bother with the review class because 80 people are in one room, reunited and unfocused of the real world. I saw the mysterious guy again. I found out he has an amazingly unique name, which made me really interested this time. Where did he come from, who are his friends, why did he go in our school now, why is he talking to my classmates, why is he laughing, what are his hobbies. I have a lot of questions running in my mind and I know, I just know I would want to be friends with this guy.

(why is this story taking soooo long to be over. Sorry)

Review went on and we spent time breathing the same air (this sounds so disgusting in a creepy sense lol) in a classroom without really knowing each other. I am with my friends, he was with his friends. I forgot my interest cause Math review is so distracting! You see, I have been listening for hours but I can’t seem to figure it out. Imagine how frustrating it was that I didn’t have time to think about other people, especially mysterious guy right?

The day of the exam came. The room assignment is so weird that I have to share a room with mystery guy and a lot of other people that aren’t my close friends. I was stuck with them for hours, it was awkward but it was nice. I sat right next to mystery guy and I didn’t know what to feel. I didn’t want to look at him but I really do. I didn’t want him to notice me but deep inside, my head is screaming “I exist”. Well our paths officially crossed when he left his papers without paper weight, without anything to secure it from flying all over the place so I found it under my desk.

I didn’t know what to do, should I pick it up or should I just leave it there? Well I didn’t want to look clutter-y so I picked it up and then as I was about to put it on his desk, he came and eyed me suspiciously. If I remember it correctly, I mumbled a lot of things telling him how the fan may have blew his papers out and I didn’t copy his answers and that I just picked it up to put it on his table and I swore I didn’t even peak at his answers that might have been incorrect anyway. He just shrugged, half listening and said “thank you”.

I heard his voice for the first time directed at me. He sounded sincere so I let it fly by. I told my friends what happened and they teased me about developing a little crush on this lad. I argued and told them I am not attracted but maybe just slightly interested.

Then fast forward to when my best friend became the girlfriend of mysterious guy’s friend. I was feeling funny and adventurous so I asked my best friend to ask her boyfriend about mysterious guy. The friend of mysterious guy wanted me to talk to him so he gave me his (mysterious guy’s) number and I struggled for a week until I came up with a “hello”. I didn’t get a reply so I deleted his number and moved on with my life. Thinking how stupid I was to even try to talk to him.

September 2007, I received a message from a number I can slightly recognize. The message said something like “Hello, sino ka?” (This means Hello, who’s this?)  I struggled for breath. I felt giggly and funny. I didn’t reply, I waited for 2 days before sending a message.

That’s how it all started.

We got to know basic stuff about each other, we talked over the phone when we can, we talk about stuff that didn’t make sense. We talked and talked.

(I am so tempted to cut this story short but, I hope you’re still reading)

It was satisfying to know that there are weird and random people you can share your randomness with. That’s how we became friends. We did got into a small (very small) argument during high school which kind of hurt me and made me stop talking to him. I guess it was awkward for him to reach out and so we stopped our daily exchange of text messages, we stopped our endless late night phone calls, we stopped our communication and I guess, I never wanted to talk to him again. I was 15 years old, hurt, sensitive, hormones raging. What do I know about this sort of stuff anyway? I didn’t long for our friendly chats and I moved on with my life without him being my friend. I was quite sad for a wee bit but I got so busy with a lot of things that I didn’t have enough time to lament for the lost friendship.

A month before the school year ended, we were asked to make a handcrafted journal, something we will ask our classmates and friends to write something for us on our journals so when we look back, we have something to treasure and laugh about. Everyone at school exchanged journals, doodling and writing a buttload of poetry and letters to each other. Mysterious guy and I exchanged journals as well and when my journal came back, I saw he wrote a brief letter, longer than a normal guy would have written. He said sorry about our little argument and he drew something cute! My heart melted and I have confirmed in that letter and drawing that he got sad quite a bit when we argued. I felt so important to him, I felt valued but there was no time for cutie patootie things as we are all so busy with college applications and all. After that, I invited him that summer for my birthday party but he never came. We lost touch and I could remember thinking about him from time to time wondering how he have been.

 

I forgot about how I was having butterflies whenever I am talking to him because he’s so funny and he never lost his spark of mystery. I let go of the idea that there will be something more than just friends between us.

Facebook came and that was our only source of communication. We didn’t talk like we used to but we always remember to update each other. I guess that’s what we did for 7 years! Then one fateful day, I am not sure what the gods of fate and love had in their wits when they made us meet coincidentally in a mall we both never go to regularly?

 

Here’s what happened. My 2 best friends, the one I was talking about earlier in this post were with me during that time. We attended a baptism and we ended up driving for ice cream. There were several road blocks that day and detours. We got stuck in traffic, parked at the wrong place, went to the wrong mall, lined up in a long queue for 3 scoops of Baskin and Robbins. It was as if everything was being delayed and that we just had to go roll with it in patience. I didn’t know why this happened and we were half pissed by the time we got our ice creams. We went through so much hassle that day and by the time we were about to leave the mall, 3 scoops of ice cream in a cup, someone called us. It was mysterious guy!!! (I did not see him for soooo long! Oh ma gahddd good lord!)SO it finally clicked why we had to go with all the trouble that day. Because mysterious guy and I were meant to see each other again, we were meant to say hello, we were meant to hug each other..

The odds that brought us in that same area, that same day, same time and same moment? Then maybe, we finally let every doubt go away. After that day, we started dating and the rest is history.

Now, here we are, celebrating the 2nd year of many more years together.

Fate and good timing is real. Everything is meant to happen one way or another. I just couldn’t believe that all the pain and hurt from the past experiences are worth it. It is such a cliché but it really was worth every hurt, every road block. Everything was worth it.

Published by

Thea

Thea, 26, INFJ (Turbulent) Always interested in other people's opinion on matters, ideas and random thoughts. I mostly keep to myself but I found that writing in this blog is easier than bottling my feelings up. Reading, writing, tea, coffee and wine are my favorite things. You can catch me mostly on twitter and instagram: @xoxthea make sure to say hello! :")

2 thoughts on “Love Story, 7 years in the Making”

Leave a Reply

