It is Hard But You Can Do It

One of the things you have to go through almost every day of your life is this.

There are a lot of people who will NOT like you no matter how good you are to them.

Yes. There will be a lot of people who will take things against you. No matter what you do, if they do not like you, then they do not like you.

For a very sensitive person like me, it is a struggle. Not because I want to please everybody (because I most certainly do not) but because I feel like I did something wrong. I take it against myself, blame myself for my actions and carelessness. Then it hit me. When you get older, when you become an adult, people will always scrutinize what you can and can’t do. People always have a lot to say whether you do something or not. People will always criticize and judge you. People will not like you for who you are and guess what, IT IS NOT YOUR PROBLEM.

After you have evaluated yourself, your actions and your attitude, after trying to be a better version of yourself but still some people do not like you, it’s time to walk away and put your little care down the drain because NEWS FLASH: YOU DON’T LIVE FOR THEM.

It is hard to not please everybody but you can definitely do it. In this life wherein it is already so hard to put your shit together, having another shit to deal with is not advisable. So I say, do not take it against yourself. As long as you are not doing anything wrong, as long as you are a good person, not being liked is not your problem anymore.

Always remember how precious your time and emotions are. You do not live anymore just to please other people, just to be liked. You have a lot of things you need to deal with and if people do not like you, that’s the last thing you have to think about.

Published by

Thea

Thea, 26, INFJ (Turbulent) Always interested in other people's opinion on matters, ideas and random thoughts. I mostly keep to myself but I found that writing in this blog is easier than bottling my feelings up. Reading, writing, tea, coffee and wine are my favorite things. You can catch me mostly on twitter and instagram: @xoxthea make sure to say hello! :")

13 thoughts on “It is Hard But You Can Do It”

  1. no what Thea you have such a sweet heart. and i totally agree your time and emotions are precious you dont need to spend them on anyone but yourself sometimes! xoo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “The least of all [your concerns] should be polite society and what it expects. If you intend to write as truthfully as you can, your days as a member of polite society are numbered, anyway.” – Stephen King

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post. If others can’t or decide not to be in your presence, it’s their loss. They are the ones that missed out on something special.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I partially agree–there are certainly people who will dislike someone for no reason, and worrying about that is a waste of time. However, when I get criticism, I’m careful not to dismiss it without actually considering if there’s some truth behind it. The natural response is to try to defend oneself against criticism and find counter-examples, but I try to take a step back and just let it sit in the back of my mind until I’m calm enough to think about it rationally (even if it takes a week!) and then think about what I can learn from the criticism. Some people are jerks, but most people are conflict-avoidant and won’t say something cruel unless it’s been festering inside them for a long time. It’s usually a biased exaggeration of the truth, but there’s usually a kernel of truth in it somewhere if you look for it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! definitely. Everything you said is true. It’s just sometimes that people do not give everyone a chance to show what they’re truly made of. Like they judge immediately and have this thinking that since they don’t like you, everything you do would be “blah”. But yes, I totally agree on what you said 😀 xox

      Like

  5. I think you made a strong statement here, and it’s true, there will be people who will not like you even if you try. Also really true, we shouldn’t want or do things to be like by them, like tou said: we don’t live for them.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I think I’m one of those people that tries to please everyone, and I do fail to do so, although I’m in that transition of changing. It’s true it doesn’t give us peace at all. Instead, it just adds to the weight of living because it becomes more of a chore and it really doesn’t fulfill us.

        Like

Leave a Reply

