Of adulthood and emotions

First of all, how to be a good blog writer anyway? It sounds so easy and personal and stuff like that but then again it’s so complicated at one point or another?! Ugh.This post is dedicated to everyone who is unsure of everything. Who tries every day to be a proper adult but cannot quite pull it off enough.

Welcome to adulthood! This is when you legit control your emotions because there are factors you have to consider before letting your heart take over. 

When I was younger, I didn’t care who see me cry, I didn’t care where I unleash my emotions. I cry when I need to, I laugh when I want to and that’s just who I was. I am crystal clear of my emotions and I wasn’t bothered at all to show how I feel. I guess that’s both an advantage and a disadvantage.

Well now, being an adult, compressing your emotions, supressing everything at one point or another is how you basically live by day by day because being an adult, you can’t just show everyone how you feel.

That sounds both easy and difficult but it is complicated and I don’t know how else to explain it.

When I was in my teenage years (I’d like to think it wasn’t that long ago. It was just 6 years ago. Yes. My last teenage year)

I would often let my emotions get in the way the moment I felt something. Now that I am older, I am trying to control my emotions as best as I could. This is because I want to save myself from more drama. Like I always say, I don’t want to involve myself with so much drama because 1. It gets really tiring and 2. I just feel like I do not deserve to be in the middle of something so pathetic.

When I get angry, I take deep breaths. I try my best to have a poker face and I try not to think about it even if it’s really just there in front of me. With that, I am saving myself from unnecessary confrontation. (I hate confrontations)

When I extremely want to cry, I also take deep breaths (deep breaths are really helpful ya know) I get to empty my mind and I go back to my reasonable self. I think of things that should matter first and try to forget why I wanted to cry in the first place!

Because being an adult is more than “not crying over spilled milk”. It’s being rational, reasonable and in control. I mean yes, being an adult doesn’t always mean you have to be in control of your life (because more often than not, YOU ARE NOT IN CONTROL AND THE MORE YOU TRY, THE MORE IT GETS OUT OF HAND. THAT IS THE TRUTH). Aside from the fact that I do not have extra energy for crying over simple and petty things, I came to a realization that when I cry over these things, it affects me more than it should. It annoys me more than it should and it uses up my time more than it should! 

Because being an adult, you realize your self-worth. It’s not about being arrogant or something. It’s about knowing what matters and what shouldn’t. Because being an adult, you need to control your emotions and as much as I hate to admit this, you can’t just have a meltdown when everything falls apart. You can’t just let everything affect you in a whim. Being an adult is trying not to cry. Being an adult is being smarter than you once were. Being an adult is pulling everything together when it is falling apart. Because being an adult, you have to have control over something and if you can’t grasp whatever is falling apart, at least have a grip on your emotions (this is coming from a person who has a lot of emotions I must say).

I guess what I’m actually getting at is being an adult is really a step by step process. It’s like learning a lot of different things every waking day. It could be hard to really keep your emotions in control but once you try and practice it, you can definitely work your way towards mastering it.

I’m not saying that old people should not cry. There are times when you really can’t help but throw a fit and that’s totally okay. It’s just that you should now have a high regard of yourself. How you hold yourself high. How you should respect yourself more so people would respect you too. How you carry yourself! 

And you know what’s ironic about all these? It’s when you really found something to cry about and you can’t just cry out loud anymore!

WELCOME TO ADULTHOOD!

Published by

Thea

Thea, 26, INFJ (Turbulent) Always interested in other people's opinion on matters, ideas and random thoughts. I mostly keep to myself but I found that writing in this blog is easier than bottling my feelings up. Reading, writing, tea, coffee and wine are my favorite things. You can catch me mostly on twitter and instagram: @xoxthea make sure to say hello! :")

Leave a Reply

