To Get You Through 25 (26, 27 and so on)

Exactly a week from now before I turn 25. Some of you maybe 25 already, about to turn 25, or even 26 now or whatever.. the point is, you try to be stuck but growing up and getting old is inevitable. I have read numerous “tita” articles, self-help books, stuff about how to battle with the quarter life crisis (and everything is super helpful) however, I still want to add some stuff or even get some hugots from my personal life dilemmas and experiences.

When I was younger, as soon as March comes, I would look closely at our calendar and count the friggin days ‘til the 7th of April cause I know, even if I wouldn’t have a big birthday bash (I loathe birthdays since I was a kid so don’t judge me) I still get excited. My mom would make it a point to get a yummy cake and cook pasta or order Pancit Malabon from Dolor’s (it’s our little tradition. Everyone gets a cake and some pasta/pancit on their birthday). Anyway, when I turned 18, I knew somehow that I should stop aging (as I always say, I hate birthdays but this time, not in a pacute way anymore) I knew that I don’t want to get a year older anymore but my brothers insist that life hasn’t even started yet and mama said that the best is yet to come. So I accepted birthdays after that (but not looking forward to it AT ALL).

Now that I am about to turn 25, I figured that I am being forced by the universe to officially “adult” my way through life. The number of responsibilities and obligations just increase AND IT NEVER ENDS THERE. Until such time that I just accept everything and even act on it without anyone telling me (go me! Woo!) So here’s a list of things that you might just need.

  1. Everyone feels the same thing as you do one way or another

Yep. Everyone. Maybe they just handle it well or you’re not looking at it intently. One thing I’m sure of is that no matter what struggles you have right now, everyone is struggling just the same! You are not alone on this and it kinda helps to know that everyone else is in the same boat as you and that you will all get through this even if #TheStruggleIsReal *wink wink*

  1. Responsibilities are inevitable (and even helpful!)

Yes, adulating is harder than we all thought. A 90’s baby is wonderful and it’s such a great pride for me to say that “I am a 90s baby” but if you are born in 1991, you are going to turn 25 (or you’re already 25 now) which means you have a buttload of responsibilities you didn’t even choose in the first place. From having children to trying to help out (financially) in the household, paying bills, paying for your own meals and everything you want and need. Yes. You work not only for yourself now but for the people who are important for you. It is important that by this time you are trying your very best to be responsible because, duh, that’s what adults should be right? Like really responsible. It helps your well-being, character and even your future! (Go you responsible adult! Woo!)

  1. No pressure, take everything slowly.

We get so stressed out about everything and trust me, not everything is worth it. I mean when you stress about career, relationship, family pressures, just freaking go with it. Like you don’t need to be right in everything. Not everything is a competition and if you get pressured deep inside then you must stop. Your friends might be climbing up the ladder of their career successes but you’ll really get there too ya know. Your cousins or childhood friends might be travelling the world already and here you are, working your butt off with so little pay but you know what? That’s okay. You get to hear it a lot but THAT IS REALLY OKAY. I can’t speak for everyone but I realized that it’s okay and it’s going to be okay if not okay right now. Lels.

I wanna write more about this but in a nutshell, you’re going through a lot and you must know that everyone else are fighting the same battles. Some might really struggle so bad, some might not show it, some might pretend to not struggle at all and some just handles it well.. Overall, everyone is in the same crisis as you and I will say it again, it pays to know that you are not alone. It’s a relief to know that you are not some over-thinking psychopath and it’s just normal to struggle especially now that you are going to fully adult your way through every freaking waking day of your life.

It’s also fun to be an adult you know. You have money (but you pay your bills, so you end up with little money hahahah) but at least you have that sense of pride that hey, your parents have raised you well enough that you can stand in your own two feet with no or little help from super kaduper adults or from your parents right? It’s sorta fulfilling to know that hey, you have a job and that you can pay for stuff now and that you can help your family and friends when they need you. So maybe, you may not have everything that you have hope for just yet but you’ll soon get everything. You just have to be patient with yourself.. and believe it!

(Now I don’t feel so scared anymore. Yayy!) I hope you’re not too terrified anymore too cause, YOU GOT THIS! *WINK WINK*

Published by

Thea

Thea, 26, INFJ (Turbulent) Always interested in other people's opinion on matters, ideas and random thoughts. I mostly keep to myself but I found that writing in this blog is easier than bottling my feelings up. Reading, writing, tea, coffee and wine are my favorite things. You can catch me mostly on twitter and instagram: @xoxthea make sure to say hello! :")

Leave a Reply

